Fiberlog

Deux

Posted in spinning, Tour de Fleece by tchemgrrl on July 4, 2010

Day 2 progress:

1) Finished spinning the singles for the batt I was working on.

2) Plied it.

3) Skeined and washed it.

4) Another accomplishment today–I got my wheel into a bobbin-led setup for the plying for the first time. Took a bit of getting used to, but it did allow me to pack a ton of yarn onto the bobbin without having to jack up the tension to the point of tiring out my legs.

mango batt

(This is a pre-washing pic.) The color gradations don’t really show up in the skein, but from plying it, I know that they’re in there, and I’m really looking forward to knitting this one up and seeing them in the knitted fabric.

I hesitate to do a wpi measure until the skein is dry, since the woolen prep should lead to a fair amount of blooming, but fresh off the bobbin it looked somewhere in the 30 wpi range. Turned out I got wayyy more yardage on this one than I’d been planning on. I was thinking somewhere in the 500-600 yard range, but it looks to be about 840 in the end. No *wonder* the spinning seemed to take forever; I spun nearly 1000 yards today!

After measuring the yardage, I am feeling much more positive about accomplishing the mile-in-a-day goal, especially if I have some plying in the mix. I put in a lot of time today and my legs are a little wibbly, but I think I could manage twice that. I’ll just need to A) Pace myself with snacks and stretching, B) Not take on anything that might be fiddly (getting the colors to line up while learning a new wheel setup was not so efficient), and C) Not pick a 90F degree day.

And now the bobbins are all gloriously empty! I think that tomorrow will primarily be a charkha day, but if I do use the wheel I will probably do some of the sample spinning–a worsted-weight 2-ply and chain-ply, and possibly some fluffy chunky singles.

Any pattern ideas for 800+ yards of fingering-to-lace weight 2-ply with color shifts? I’m thinking about a rectangular shawl but I have nothing specific in mind yet.

9/10. Big day.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leslie said, on July 7, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Looks very nice–I love that combination of colours, like different kinds of gelato (or maybe I am just thinking that way since it’s 42 C where I am!).


Leave a Reply

