Fiberlog

My eyes!

Posted in spinning by tchemgrrl on July 28, 2010

Well, really, I like it, but I can understand why you, a Discerning Reader Of Taste, might not.

bright seasilk

It’s a little bit bright. A little. Astronauts might be wondering why their eyes water every time they look in the direction of the northeastern US.

2 ounces of Fleece artist sea silk/bug silk blend, in what I’m guessing is the “Cosmic Dawn” colorway from looking at their website. 2-ply. 2 one-ounce skeins that are almost exactly 225 yards each, in another proof of my freaky robotic spinning. All spindle-spun on one Bosworth Mini.

I got the colors to line up by splitting the top carefully down the middle, and carefully spinning each little piece in order. I’ve been working on it occasionally since about February, and I’m thrilled to have it off the spindle and looking so nice.

The runs of color are pretty long, so I’m thinking of knitting a lengthwise scarf. A knitting friend got me thinking about the possibility of dropped stitches this evening–the yarn is fine, but quite strong, so I think the chances of tragic snags is low enough to give it more thought.

(Tragic Snags is the name of my imaginary nerdcore band.)

This is a rare skein of yarn for me–one where the skein itself is so pretty that I almost don’t want to knit it. I know it will look just as nice knit up because of the length of the color runs, but still. Just look at that thing. My worsted spinning is getting better–the shine on this is wonderful. The colors lined up without a whole lot of coaxing. The grist is pretty darn consistent. Every once in a while I just need to gloat about hitting one out of the ballpark. And this is me gloating.

Even if this yarn is bright enough to give blind people headaches.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susannah said, on July 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    If it’s too bright for you, I’ll take one for the team and get it off your hands.

    I’m caring like that.

  2. tchemgrrl said, on July 30, 2010 at 6:36 am

    You are a generous soul.


Leave a Reply

