Fiberlog

Bright scarf

Posted in FO, knitting, made with handspun by tchemgrrl on July 29, 2011

Back in the dark ages, I posted about this yarn, thoroughly eye-searing and totally awesome, with really long color repeats by design. The color repeats were so long, in fact, that I thought it’d be fun to knit a scarf lengthwise, which made the stripes more appealing to me.

bright seasilk

The yarn, for reference. 450 yards, 2 ounces, a silk/sea silk blend, spindle-spun.

I’d also been looking at the Morning Surf scarf, which was featured with a bunch of different handspun yarns in the Summer ’08 issue of Spin-Off. The scarf was shown as knit from the short end, but I thought that turning the bubbles into lozenges for a scarf knit lengthwise would be appealing, and would go well with the yarn.

I knit the scarf on US 4’s, pretty loose for the fine laceweight yarn and made looser by the multi-yarn-overs that make the wavy pattern. I lived dangerously by knitting only the sketchiest of sketchy swatches with my precious handspun to figure out how many stitches I would need for a scarf of decent length, then unraveled the swatch so I could use that yarn (!). The pattern asks for a multiple of 10+6–I put on 206 stitches and hoped for the best.

Hell, I’ll say it. The best happened.

surfing safari scarf

I had the yarn in two one-ounce skeins. As I neared the end of the first ounce, I realized that the scarf was already plenty wide for the filmy little thing that it is, so I cast off where I was. . . . .

And ran out of yarn about 190 stitches into casting off. In the end, I used about 3 feet of yarn from the second skein. Phew!

This scarf is one of those “block it to death to get it to look its best” type of patterns. Knit lengthwise, it’s also a “cast off as loosely as possible, no, looser than that” pattern. It came off the needles like a technicolor dishrag, but blocking really made it sing. It was a fun knit, easy to memorize and still a little different. With the bright colors and dainty yarn, it was the perfect choice to work on in the spare little minutes of an early-motherhood winter in upstate NY.

surfing safari scarf

Now, I just have to figure out what to do with the second skein! I’ve considered knitting the same pattern in the usual way to show the difference in color shading, but who knows.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fillyjonk said, on August 11, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Oh, my gosh, that’s beautiful. Turned out very nicely. (And congrats on your new addition…I knew he was coming but lost track of when!)


Leave a Reply

