Fiberlog

FO-rama

Posted in FO, knitting, spinning, WIP by tchemgrrl on February 12, 2012

Finished on or worked on some more things from the Ridiculous List of Unfinishedness:

5-Wheel project-3-ply yarn from batts

Done!

silver

270 yards, 4 ounces all together, just to the light end of worsted weight. I had a vague plan of making a hat for Jeremy but the finished yarn seems much sparklier than the batts did–in chatting to my main batt dealer, this seems to be a pretty common thing. The thicker diameter of the sparkles may push them to the outer edge of the yarn, giving them a stronger effect in the yarn compared to what you see in the fiber.

That’s the only thing that got finished this week, but I made some progress on #2 (sewing a zipper onto a baby sweater), after trying to sew it on a few different ways and ripping things out. I think I’ve got it going better, now, and should have it finished and sent to the recipient before she’s too big for it. I finished frogging the yarn that is now intended for the linen sweater (#18), and need to finish some calculations before that gets going in earnest. And there’s some progress on #11 (a spindle project in a yak-merino blend), I’m hoping to finish the singles on that one next week, if not the plying.

I’m really pleased with how much I’ve been able to get done. It seems like I haven’t finished a project in months and months, so it’s wonderful to get out from under the weight of all these bits and pieces sitting around. Once I get more than half the projects on the original list finished, I’ll reassess the list and see if there’s anything that needs to be updated or modified.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How’m’I doin’? « Fiberlog said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    […] 5-Wheel project, with two 2-ounce batts I got at Roc Day. […]


Leave a Reply

