Fiberlog

Frog Pond

Posted in planning, WIP by tchemgrrl on February 15, 2012

Well I’ve had a good look at the v-yoke cardigan, and I’ve had a good look at my swatch, and I have a sinking feeling that never the twain shall meet. I don’t know what I was thinking casting on for this (fortunately it was juat a few stitches), but now I understand why I set this aside when I was looking forward to both working with the yarn and knitting the pattern.

Now, I’m trying to decide which feels more like cheating on the list–knitting the v-yoke cardigan in another yarn, or using this yarn for a different cardigan? I have this lovely navy yarn from Blackberry Ridge that I’ve been trying to put a project to for a very long time; it’s well onto the fingering end of laceweight and I think it would work for this project. On the other hand, I’m also looking at lighter-weight cardigan patterns now, and there are a bunch that would look great with the chocolate brown hemp yarn that I’ve been looking forward to wearing. On the other, other hand, if I’m frogging the thing, maybe I should just remove it from the “UFO” list entirely, as it is not actually IN progress, in any way.

Nnngggh. I was enjoying plugging along on all the unfinished things but I’m ready to reward myself with something new. (And it WOULD be a relatively large-scale project like a fingering weight cardigan that would attract me, wouldn’t it?) Perhaps I will keep with the finishing old stuff this week, and then get something else going next week if I’ve made some good progress. I’m nearly to the halfway point on the ridiculous list of ridiculousness, after all.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lynn said, on February 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    I admire your productivity and organization. For awhile I have had a guideline of finish two projects before starting one new one. That way I feel like I am making progress on the backlist, but can still look forward to new things.

    I just signed up for Ravelry so I could look at your photos. Wow, you have made a lot of things! I am still working on the handspun Aran sweater for V (on the second sleeve!). I have the second of a pair of socks in my travel knitting right now. I want to finish those so I can try the patterns in Cat Bordhi’s book. I also have a pair of gloves almost done for a person who recently was a real jerk, and may just frog them.

    On the spinning side, I have bunches of things going. I just decided to drop my mohair after finishing one skein and spin 4oz of alpaca that has been sitting in the next up position for months. It is lovely and soft and full of hidden vegetable matter. I am spinning it lace weight because that is how it is coming out. I may ply it with some singles that I spun a long time ago that are sitting on a bobbin. Or not, depending on how it comes out. I just got Nancy Bush’s Estonian lace book. I plan to knit the mohair into a lace stole for the friend who gave me the fiber from her goats. I like alpaca as lace, but I can’t imagine a good use for a small tan lace item.

    Ravelry may just motivate me to figure out how to download the photos from my new-last-year camera and to document my stash.

  2. tchemgrrl said, on March 3, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Ooh, you finally joined! Personally, I find that I like Ravelry best for questions like “what small tan lace thing can I make?” The pattern and project search is super helpful. Even if I don’t actually use the patterns I find, it’s fun to see what other people come up with.

  3. How’m’I doin’? « Fiberlog said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    […] 18-V-Yoke cardigan Frogged for overoptimistic gauge calculation. I swatched with different yarn, with much better results. Will start knitting soon, but again, it’s not a WIP now. (Or, yet.) […]


Leave a Reply

