Fiberlog

Charlotte’s Hoodie

Posted in FO, knitting, made with handspun, spinning by tchemgrrl on March 3, 2012

I. Love. This.

Charlotte's Hoodie

The idea for knitting this started with a commercially-produced hoodie that Th. had last spring. It was a 6 month size, but it was the only thing in that size that lasted him past 6 months (or, frankly, past about 4 months. Big dude.) I swear it feels like he wore this every day for months, but I only have this picture of him in it, when it was finally getting small:

Ready to go to daycare

It’s reversible, which is nice, but which I wasn’t going to do for a handknit. It was a perfect weight–it was a primary layer in the early spring, an outdoor jacket in late spring, and a thing to wear to school on an occasional cool summer morning. This fingering weight merino-tencel blend, originally spun for socks, seemed like the right three-seasons, washable, cheerful yarn for this sweater.

The sleeves were a lot wider than other, similar items, which made it easier to squeeze floppy baby arms through, and which also allowed it to fit for longer (he was getting his circulation cut off at the wrist with a bunch of outfits that fit in every other dimension). Something about the shape of the hood actually allowed it to stay on his head and not slide right off. And it looked cute with most of his clothes.

I liked this jacket so much that I wanted to replicate it for the newest baby cousin. So I did a ton of measuring, wrote out all the numbers with the swatch I had, and got to it.

superwash hibiscus

The yarn is this yarn–3 ply handspun fingering weight, which I fractal plied. I love how the fractal plying broke up the color while still giving it some unity.

Unfortunately, I ran out of yarn just before starting the hood. Fortunately, I had more fiber, and just needed to spin it up. Unfortunately again, it took me long enough to knit, then spin, then knit, then find and order the zipper (local shops didn’t have anything that would have been close to matching), then put in the zipper, then finish and wash it, that Charlotte is now edging up on 6 months old, herself, having been born in September. But from the pictures I’ve seen, I think she’s a more modestly-proportioned kid, and so I’m hoping that they’ll get a lot of use out of this sweater in the spring.

Great project. Everything came together just right. I’ll almost certainly knit another one of these. I’m actually thinking about sizing it up and using the same general pattern for another sweater for Th. for the fall (or maybe next winter). I have some superwash rainbow-colored fiber that I want to stripe with a more-neutral yarn, so as to extend the amount of rainbow fiber I have. I think this style would look great as a cheerful little hoodie for the dude.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christa said, on March 3, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    The sweater is lovely and, my goodness, is your baby cute!

    • tchemgrrl said, on March 3, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Aw, thank you! I can’t believe how much older he looks now–that picture was from last August, which doesn’t seem that long ago! As I’m sure you’re figuring out, time really flies.

  2. How’m’I doin’? « Fiberlog said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    […] 2-Hooded baby sweater for baby C. […]


Leave a Reply

