Fiberlog

A different type of WIP

Posted in Uncategorized by tchemgrrl on May 9, 2012

I went on that finishing binge, and then went on a corresponding project-starting binge, which means that I have a bunch of raggedy looking pieces of the v-yoke cardigan, and a lumpy unblocked Hitchhiker, and a few more bobbins of humbug BFL waiting to be plied, and 3.5 ounces of singles spun from this top from Fiber Fancy.

Merino

Then there’s the garden, still a pile of dirt but rototilled and deer-fenced, ready for seedlings as soon as we get a door on it.

But my main WIP is this guy and I thought I’d talk about the changes from 12 to 18 months. So if baby rambling is not your style, wander away and I’ll be back as soon as I finish something. (I’ve got 3 things that are at that 80% point, so it’ll probably be soon.)

big smile

Words: So. Many Words. At a year he had about 10 words if I was super-generous with the definition. We’re well past 50 now that I can understand pretty well though with a few overlaps, and many more that all sound like “Dumbledore” but which make sense in context (“pretzel”, “downstairs”, and “blueberries” all fall under this category, for a sense of the complexity that his mouth can’t yet manage in spite of his brain clearly knowing the word). Words that have shown up in the past week: spoon, “Doodoo” for Grandma Dorothy who visited last week, “Ah dye” for “other side” (a nursing-specific term), and “whee!” for all playground equipment.

Daddy and Mommy are mostly interchangeable titles.

Word I’m most impressed by: “happy”. Said in totally appropriate contexts.

Snowbaby

Coordination: Walking, running, jumping. Walking backwards is funny, as is walking around with something that obscures his vision (sunglasses indoors, hats over eyes.) He knows how to gently touch a baby or animal, and can handle books with real pages. Several people have commented on how well he throws balls.

Coordination feat I’m most impressed by: Yesterday I handed him a plate with some corn on it, and he walked across the kitchen and climbed into an adult chair without spilling a kernel. (3 minutes later, he scattered the corn intentionally, so I’m not celebrating a decrease in mess yet.)

Marked man

Self-care: He can put a hat or scarf on himself, and is more help than hinderance with everything else. When he wants to go outside, he will hand me his socks, then fetch his shoes, then a coat and/or hat, and then say “byebye” to drive the point home. He’ll wear a hat if it’s cold, but is not fully behind the “hat for the sun” idea yet. He’s a decent handwasher, and will go over to the sink unprompted before meals.

Self-care action I’m most impressed by: He does a fair job of blowing his own nose.

basket case

Other helpfulness: He wants to help with everything, all the time. Sweeping, folding laundry, wiping spills. When something is wrong with his world, he will come up to you and say ‘Uh-oh!’ until you address the problem. I kept him happy while I was cooking recently by showing him how to grease muffin tins and then putting some wax paper on his hand to wave at the cups; some cooking may be in his future.

drawing at school

Likes: All animals, and all animal sounds except me ba-KAWKing like a chicken for some reason. Going outside–all adventures are good adventures. Music and dancing. Counting numbers. Elmo ("Memo"). Things with glowing screens. Pens and pencils and paper.

Storytime

Dislikes: Cold wet things applied to face or hands or bottom. Not getting his way.

Sour face

Personality: Some little snapshots, here.

-He likes climbing things and yelling his name, I guess in case anyone was wondering who that amazing climber was.

-He loves school buses. He says "kids!" and waves. Sometimes kids wave back and he’ll clap his hands with joy.

-Tonight, I was giving him a bath, and he started saying "dadaDADAda" and waving his arm around exactly like the twins in that video that went viral a while back, which I’d watched with him a week or so ago. I smiled, thinking of how similar all toddlers are. Then he did it again, and said "Babies".

Waitaminute.

"Are you remembering that video with the two little boys?"

In answer, a huge smile and a nod of the head. Then he very deliberately stuck his foot up in the air like the kids on the video.

Jesus wept. I expect him to start quoting Monty Python any day now.

Theo and A

Parents: Oh, gosh, this has changed so much. At a year, I was feeling pretty low. It was a damn hard year and I had no way of knowing that the turning point was pretty much there. Things have been so much better in the past 6 months. There are hard days, but not hard months. There are whole good weeks! Not everything goes as planned, but I’m pretty joyful about my life.

Making him smile

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] that he’d be someone different if he was that other guy, and so would I. I also know that I can’t imagine him being anyone but the amazing guy he is. The yarn brings me back to that place, but I don’t live there anymore, and I don’t […]


Leave a Reply

