Fiberlog

Impulse Fiber

Posted in FO, spinning by tchemgrrl on May 23, 2012

At the 2010 Finger Lakes Fiber Festival, I ran across Fiber Fancy, a fiber artist whose spot was one barn over from the friend I was helping that weekend. Her stuff was gorgeous, but the one time I wandered through I happened to not have my wallet with me, and never made it back.

Then, I thought of her colorways all year long, but I couldn’t remember the name of the business. I even looked through the vendor list of the fiber fair and nothing looked familiar. That’s one way of knowing you should have bought something! I knew I wouldn’t make the same mistake in 2011, and I didn’t. They’d moved to a tent, and I got this lovely Merino:

Merino

Beautiful colorway, but completely not my usual style–I’m usually much more of a tonal colorway person, with occasional forays into absolutely ridiculous brightness. This particular yarn didn’t really hit either extreme, and as such I wasn’t entirely sure how to work with it.

I did, however, notice that all the colors pretty much stayed to one side of the color wheel–greens and purples and a little blue. So I thought that I might be able to turn it into something a little subtle by mixing the colors up a bit. I decided to make a fractal yarn, working half of the fiber from the full width of the merino top, and splitting the other half into three roughly-equal strips. The result would be an intentional and hopefully cohesive mixing and matching.

I spun and plied all the yarn on a spindle, making a low twist singles and intentionally overplying for a bit of puffiness and body in the final product. I spun much of it on a recent business trip to Florida and had a blast explaining the engineering inherent in fiber arts to a bunch of curious scientists while I worked.

spindle full

My goal was a sportweight yarn. The merino poof factor being what it is, this is about the thickness of a machine-spun worsted weight yarn, but I think it’ll knit up just right as a sportweight anyhow, if I want to. It’s just got a ton of air in it, is all. Amazing yardage even for a sportweight; 415 yards for 4 ounces. Thanks, merino poof.

merino

The next trick is to figure out what the heck I’m going to knit with it. Any ideas for a really squishy merino of many colors?

Leave a Reply

