Fiberlog

Hitchhiker

Posted in FO, knitting, made with handspun by tchemgrrl on June 4, 2012

This one kind of jumped on me.

A bunch of people in my Saturday knitting group have been knitting the Hitchhiker shawl. It looked like an easy but interesting knit, assymetrical but not Out There.

I had this yarn:

tartan yarn

A shade over 4 ounces and 200 yards of Aranish weight 3 ply. I wanted to do a pattern that would emphasize that aqua end a little, make it more interesting and intentional-looking than a plain rectangle could manage.

Eh, what the heck, I thought. Put those two ideas together, what’s the harm. I wanted something easy to work on while my mom was in town because I knew I’d be talking so much that anything more complicated is going to get set aside. (I’m not normally quite so much of a blabbermouth, but my mom comes for a visit and I turn into a 7 year old LOOK AT ME MOM LOOK WHAT I CAN DO YAY.)

hitchhiker

Boom. Size 9US needles with big yarn just ZOOMS. Even having to rip out twice before I figured out a good system of stitch markers, it took me about 30 seconds to finish. Okay, three days, but you know the last time I finished something in three days? Yeesh.

A fun knit! The only downside is that the fiber was a dyer friend’s test batch for the colorway and it’s pretty bleedy. I washed the yarn a ton, washed the FO even more, and I’m still wary of putting it over a light-colored shirt. That means it won’t be a present, but it does mean that it’ll look great with my darker-navy pea coat this winter.

hitchhiker

hitchhiker
(with bonus catbutt)

This pattern is totally addictive, I highly recommend it. It’s got the perfect rhythm for a not-paying-much-attention-but-can’t-be-boring-either project. I cast this one off and immediately cast on another, in this creamy yarn. I’m playing around a bit with this one–making it partly in stockinette, and maybe changing the bound off edge so that it’s toothed, thus slightly more symmetric.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Picking Up Another « Fiberlog said, on June 25, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    […] my first one, I also made this Hitchhiker from some handspun yarn I’d made last year. I never blogged about […]


Leave a Reply

