Fiberlog

More BFL

Posted in planning, spinning, Sweater for JJ, WIP by tchemgrrl on June 8, 2012

oatmeal bfl

Hey, look, the middle 3 skeins of an oatmeal-colored, sweater-sized project. For all two of my readers, I will put one word into your mouth: YAWN.

It’s too bad that there’s no Feel-o-vision on the internet though because this stuff is not yawn-worthy in person. Bouncy and subtle and with a longwool crispness while still feeling soft enough for close-to-skin wear. This is for a sweater for my husband, and I’m going to have to find JUST the right pattern to be worthy of this stuff. It’s. So. Nice. I’ve spun a fair amount of yarn and I’m at the point in my spinning career where I’m mostly happy with what I make, but something about this stuff is really spectacular. Maybe it’s the fact that it IS so boring looking from a distance. It just looks kind of… commercial. But only in pictures. In person, it’s the thing I always try to have be true about my knitting, that it’s not something that can be bought in a store. I can’t even put it fully into words, all I know is that this is the best yarn I’ve ever made, the one I’ve been working towards since I started spinning 7 years ago, without even knowing it.

6 more ounces to go.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. agujasblog said, on June 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    I think it looks great! Knitters and spinners will totally get it!

  2. Mary said, on June 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    It’s lovely. I can attest to its perfection.

  3. Kaystir said, on June 9, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Ha proof you have at least three readers! That yarn sounds awesome.

  4. Lynn said, on June 18, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Four readers! The colors would look brighter photographed against a flat white or light grey background instead of against woodgrain. I’m glad that the yarn is cooperating with your goals for it.


Leave a Reply

