Fiberlog

TdF Day 1

Posted in spinning, Tour de Fleece, WIP by tchemgrrl on June 30, 2012

My primary Tour de Fleece goal this year is to just focus on spinning for the next few weeks and not waste so much time online doing I-don’t-even-know-what. So while I’ll be updating regularly here, the posts themselves will either be on the short side because I’m not saying much so I can get back to spinning, or else they’ll be longer because I won’t spend as much time editing myself. 🙂

Here’s the results from day 1:

TdF Day 1

Most progress made on the right; that’s some wool from Starcroft Fiber Mill that I got as a gift from my in-laws. I spun a bit while chasing the toddler around; it’s a reminder that I CAN do that, at least some of the time. He’s getting a lot more independent; we went to a playground today and the only time he wanted help was when he accidentally dropped his ball off of the structure. The remainder of it was spun with my Saturday knitting group. Another regular is also doing the Tour so we compared notes and fiber. (She’s a phenom so I assume she’s washing her first pound of plied yarn right about now.)

The fiber is a nice crunchy medium wool roving; I’m spinning it as a not-too-thin two ply. Easy, mindless stuff.

I also did a very small amount of spinning on my Bossie; the fiber on the left is silk from Susan in the Blimey colorway. I haven’t done much fine spinning lately so this is an effort to keep those skills fresh; I’m spinning it as finely as I’m comfortable spinning this particular spindle with an ounce of fiber on it. (I tested this by doing a brief sample on one of my heavier spindles). It’s going to take forrreevvvver, but that’s the point. I just want something lovely to work on in odd bits of time, and when I’m done I’ll have a few gazillion yards of beautiful silk thread.

Leave a Reply

