Fiberlog

TdF Day 2

Posted in planning, spinning, Tour de Fleece, WIP by tchemgrrl on July 1, 2012

TdF Day 2

Finished the Starcroft singles. A mindless project that can follow the toddler around is a boon. I wound them into a plying ball, and then added some old singles to what singles I had left over. The leftover singles are from Susan’s Spinning Bunny. I’m not sure about the fiber (though it’s probably Falkland) but I know the colorway is Mahogany. I then had leftovers of the mahogany, which I wound into its own plying ball. I have a couple of plying balls ready to go so there will probably be a plying spree sometime this week.

I spent quite a lot of time on the silk, not that you can tell. Fine spinning is fine.

I have some rainbow-colored superwash wool that I want to use as stripes in a sweater for T. I want the colors on the sleeves and body to roughly line up, so last night after I posted, I did some calculations to figure out what goes where–that’s what’s on the paper. It’s not spinning but this has been the thing preventing me from starting on that fiber, so I’ll count it. I’ll also be doing some sampling to see what goes best with the commercial yarn it’ll be knit with.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. TdF Day 10 « Fiberlog said, on July 9, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    […] the BFL can only mean one thing: I’m ready to start some rainbow spinning! As I mentioned on Day 2, I have some rainbow-dyed fiber that will be stripes in a sweater for the toddler, and I did a few […]


Leave a Reply

