Fiberlog

TdF Day 8

Posted in planning, spinning, Tour de Fleece, WIP by tchemgrrl on July 7, 2012

I did a bunch of things today, so I thought I’d change up the format of the picture:

TdF Day 8

Just a quick shot of everything I worked on.

Starting from the left:

The thicker purple and navy yarns are going to go into a sweater for the Toddler–this would be one small bit of the rainbow fiber that I’ll be working on once the BFL is complete. The purple is one of the handspun 3-ply samples that I made to match the navy blue commercial yarn. This particular sample got closest–even the twist looks surprisingly similar in spite of the fact that the commercial yarn’s a 4 ply. I’ve got the singles sample for this yarn, unwashed, to compare as I do the spinning for the rainbow yarn.

The lighter blue yarn is the laceweight silk I’ve been working on in short stretches since the first day. I started breaking the thread a bunch today, so it might require more attention than I pay in my knitting group.

The next yarn is some llama fiber that I got in a fiber club a while back and never did anything with. I still don’t know what I will do with it (as per my recent post), but I’ll be spinning it up into a 3 ply yarn in the DK to worsted weight range. The fiber is lusciously soft but I’m having a hard time spinning it without overtwisting; it’s been a while since I’ve worked with pure camelid yarn and it doesn’t seem to be like riding a bicycle.

The last yarn is the last–last! bit of the BFL fiber. My Big Project basket is disturbingly empty now that I finished all that. Something will need to be done, pronto. Once these singles are all plied up, the rainbow fiber will be taking up residence.

Leave a Reply

