Fiberlog

Mystery Knitalong Update

Posted in knitting, WIP by tchemgrrl on September 11, 2012

I’ve made some progress in the Trapeze Knitalong, although unblocked lace being unblocked lace, and unblocked lace in a linen yarn being even more unblocked than usual, one gets the impression that I’ve made some very poorly wrought dishrags:

Trapeze KAL

The instructions for the first few sections asked us to knit three of these shapes. I got through two and then had a baby sweater emergency. (Emergency, I tell you. It certainly had nothing to do with getting tired of stockinette quadrilaterals.) The next clue–Huzzah! Involved only two of the previously-knit doodads, and also involved beads which I’ve been excited to try. So I skipped ahead, a little. If I start knitting zippily, I might be able to catch back up to the correct clue soon.

Here is my yarn and bead combination. Since I was working with a uniformly-colored yarn, I thought I’d go higher-contrast on the beads. I wanted the beads in my first beaded project to be obvious!

Trapeze KAL

Two beaded rows in now, and am really happy with how it looks. I’m also really happy with the setup of the pattern. Laura has relatively short pattern instructions that are perfectly understandable for experienced knitters, but with links to very detailed video tutorials. I haven’t knit with beads before, and I knit the first row of beads in without watching her video, and got really confused when I got to the next row, because I’d arranged the beads in an odd way. Her video was clear enough that I was able to flip all the beads to their correct position without tinking and felt totally solid on what I was doing after watching the video. I’m about 20% through this beaded section and have had no trouble since.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susan Sarabasha said, on September 12, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Way to go. Is this stringing or crochet hook beading?

  2. tchemgrrl said, on September 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    It’s stringing. I’m using a thin yarn so pushing the beads along isn’t too bad, and having them prestrung makes it a bit more portable, so it works for me!


Leave a Reply

