Fiberlog

Shawlette

Posted in FO, handspun, knitting, made with handspun by tchemgrrl on January 11, 2013

In early November I went on a short business trip that involved about 10 hours on a bus and plenty of downtime in between.

I usually turn to shawls when this happens, and this time was no different.

The Eze shawlette was in the holiday issue of IK that I’d picked up shortly before my trip, and the short but still non-repeating pattern appealed to me. The Yak-merino that I spun up this past spring seemed like it would go well, so on the most total of total whims, I grabbed the skein, the copy of IK, and a pair of needles that seemed about right on my way out the door.

Yak/merino

Working on the project provided was exactly what I’d hoped for–a pleasant layer of complexity, but very easy to work on in little bits of time or in long stretches on the bus between naps. The yarn doesn’t shed as much as I’d feared, though the yak does obscure the lace just a bit.

Shawl

I made a slight modification to the pattern by repeating one section of lace because I wanted to use up all of the yarn. Of course, then I had been about one row over-optimistic and needed to end the lace pattern one row before the end. Not too bad, though–the droplets look like hanging bells instead.

This was a really fast knit. I started it on a Wednesday and wove in all the ends at the next Saturday’s spinning guild meeting. Amazing what 48 hours more-or-less to oneself will do, even when one is spiraling down into a bad cold. (Maybe because of that; I was all on my own in NYC and went to bed at 6pm. Plenty of cozy knitting time.)

120512 009

The shawl seemed very small when finished, but opened up enough after blocking to be okay, though still quite small. If I were to knit it again, I’d start with more yardage and plan on adding a few repeats in.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fillyjonk said, on January 12, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Very pretty. I agree; I find a lot of shawlettes are kind of small for me. I assume that’s a feature of three things: (a) I have unusually broad shoulders for a woman, (b) a lot of designers want to try to use a smaller amount (like 1, 100-g skein of sockyarn) for their patterns and possibly (c) the models they use to show off these things tend to be smaller than the average woman.

    I added a couple repeats into the Emily shawlette I made because I had plenty of yarn and I knew it was going to be small on me. Even with the extra repeats it is a little small.

  2. tchemgrrl said, on January 16, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Thanks!

    I gotta start thinking of a shawlette as a variant of a cowl rather than a variant of a shawl. It works fine as a little around-the-neck thing, but not as an around-the-shoulders thing. Though I am also broad-shouldered, so that might make it even more obvious on me.


Leave a Reply

