Fiberlog

Sidelined!

Posted in Uncategorized by tchemgrrl on February 12, 2013

Let this be a lesson to all you fine crafters out there.

This morning, I was running for the bus in A Lot, as one always does. I stepped the wrong way and found myself horizontal, with an instant, very impressive, swelling about the ankle. I then got the opportunity to chat with the university EMS squad about all the interesting things you chat about to prove you didn’t bonk your head on the way down. (The EMS kids, by the way. They are very helpful but VERY ADORABLY YOUNG and insufficiently concerned with their own health. “Young man, you are wearing a short sleeved polo shirt and it is below freezing out here. You’ll catch your death,” I might have been heard to say if I were not paying so much attention to all those pain-management techniques I learned during childbirth.)

Blah blah urgent care blah x-ray blah. *Very* sprained ankle. Possible chipped bone, but no real break. Through most of this I was too busy managing pain or texting work and J to have any interest in crafty pursuits. Crutches, Ace bandage, taxi home, a brief foray around the house for essential supplies (laptop, ibuprofen, water, snacks, purse), and I found myself very comfortably ensconced. I’m not in any pain, as long as I don’t do a damn thing.

And guess what? I do not have a single project on the needles right now. None.

This is the sort of thing all those TKGA-funded 80’s after-school specials warned you about. “Don’t be caught without knitting. Ever.”

(I said this to a friend who linked to this and asked me if I would be moving on to caffeine pills in my continuing downward spiral.)

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary said, on February 12, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Oh no! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help you get a project on the needles!
    This precious time must not be wasted.

  2. tchemgrrl said, on February 12, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Thanks, Mary. I have since started a baby sweater for a soon-to-arrive baby. But to be bored enough to want knitting but uncomfortable enough to have a hard time making a decision is tough! Usually when I can’t decide, I spin, but that’s not straightforward at the moment either. Maybe by the time the sweater is done I’ll know what’s next.

  3. fillyjonk said, on February 13, 2013 at 8:55 am

    “The more you know” (*ting* And you’ll have to imagine the rainbow and shooting star).

    I usually have TOO MANY projects on the needles. Maybe that’s why I never get sick or injure myself in such a way as to be laid up….

  4. Susan Sarabasha said, on February 20, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    How are you doing? Mobile yet? Let me know if I can help in any way.

  5. A sweater for a baby Lion | Fiberlog said, on March 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    […] very dear friends of ours are having a baby soon. When I was laid up with my ankle without any knitting, I decided that a baby sweater for them was just the thing to […]


Leave a Reply

