Fiberlog

More not-explicitly spinning thoughts

Posted in Uncategorized by tchemgrrl on March 14, 2013

This essay speaks truth, and I’m putting it here because I need to come back to it later after thinking about how much time I spend advocating for a simpler life while accreting stuff.

A few brief things it’s making me think of:

The accumulation of stuff is a way to make it through to the next payday in case of minor emergency. If you’ve got extra groceries, extra clothes (even crummy stuff), there’s still that safety net, for yourself and also for your friends. Even though I’m not living paycheck-to-paycheck, I still have my working-class approaches.

Cleaning and sorting and winnowing and reassessing, all that needs to pretty much be a constant thing, to maintain a more minimal kind of lifestyle. The factors that play into poverty often mean that people don’t have the spoons to fight that constant fight.

It doesn’t mean that there’s not a value to getting rid of things that have no use, or things that need to be maintained that no one in a family derives pleasure from. But it’s giving me pause about some of my judginess.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fillyjonk said, on March 15, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I was a lot worse about “accumulating” when I first moved here – there was almost no shopping (very limited groceries, even) in my small town (I couldn’t get hoisin sauce, I couldn’t find dates in the stores…) and so when I’d make the half-hour trek (each way) to Sherman, to a larger nicer grocery store than I had access to, I went a little crazy. Same way with books and the bookstore. Same way with fabric.

    I still own a lot of books. (In fact, I am facing the choice of “Get rid of some of them, or buy another bookcase.” I may wind up getting the bookcase). I don’t really have much of a bookstore in my town, but I do have the university library….

    Also, when you’re a busy busy person with limited energy (the spoons theory has really hit home since I’ve been on the beta blocker: I’ve had to skip working out on the days when I know I will need to be on my feet a lot because I won’t have the energy for both in one day), the whole constant-winnowing thing is just too much. Even for someone who isn’t necessarily fearful of living paycheck to paycheck.


Leave a Reply

