Fiberlog

What happened?

Posted in Uncategorized by tchemgrrl on June 19, 2013

I got a smartphone, that’s what happened.

There are some good things about it–my mom got one at about the same time, and talking face-to-face has been pretty cool. And yeah, it is handy to look up the hours of a restaurant as we’re headed downtown, and decide to go somewhere else for dinner instead. And it’s nice to not be openly mocked for my phone.

But, um, the last 3 months kind of fell into a little screen. I’m getting better at setting it down, but still not great.

You see, this is why I’ve lived a damn near close to straight-edge life, my whole life. There are plenty of addictive behaviors in my family, and the best way to avoid stepping over the line seems to be to keep the line so far away that it’s not even visible. And now I have this little addictive-behavior-promoter and it is not healthy, people.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fillyjonk said, on June 20, 2013 at 7:52 am

    Smartphones, that sort of constantly being in contact thing, does seem to be very addictive. In some of my classes I’d be harping on people two or three times an hour to stop trying to “stealth text” in the class. Finally, after doing the spiel about how you can’t REALLY divide your attention and how it’s rude to ignore the others in the class (during discussions, etc.), I just give up. I get sick of being the harpy who’s always on people about texting.

    I figure it is an addictive behavior; I’ve had students meeting with me who started to twitch when their phone “message alert” went off and they knew they should not check it…

  2. Lynn said, on June 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    I am holding fast to my dumb phone with texting. I spend my day on the computer at work, and don’t have time to look at social media. I don’t want to use my limited free time surfing the web or sorting through the cute links posted by my friends. I agree that the map and search functions of a smartphone are really useful. The email and facebook not so much. Maybe if I was really trying to stay in contact with a lot of people it would be a good thing. As it is, I just got back from a week of vacation and had only three real emails and no calls waiting for me.

    I know what you mean about addictive behaviors. I agree that avoiding them is much easier than limiting them.

  3. Lynn said, on July 15, 2013 at 8:24 am

    You could start using the camera on your phone to take pictures of your work in progress. It will probably even let you post them directly without having to download to a computer first.


Leave a Reply

